Let’s do Another Music Ramble I Guess

I’ve been like, way busier this summer than one should ever be in a summer pls send help save my soul SOS. Well, that’s not to say I don’t like it. I’ve been doing research over the summer for the physics department, and I’m doing the same job I did last summer, which is another job within the physics department, and I gotta say, it’s all really fun and I’m quite enjoying myself. But I’m tiiiiiirrrrreeeeddd. With these two jobs, and socializing, and my old sad computer died like a week ago so I had to rush out and drop one thousand dollars on a new computer that night so I could continue to do my job, I’ve been busy, and I get stressed easily. So I’ve been listening to music. Which I did anyway but hey, it’s like the only thing I do in my free time (socializing isn’t free time, it takes too much energy, it’s basically a job). So y’all are getting another music list from me. But this time: PLAY ADDITION. For some reason I got stupidly into two musicals, which I’ve never even watched but I listened to the songs and now I keep listening to them, so I’m forcing my opinions onto you.

Be More Chill:

is is like, a cute musical. Kind of sad stuff happens sometimes, some character’s get sad, but that’s most stories ever so, eh. Be More Chill was actually a book by Ned Vizzini, and it’s a Sci-Fi where super computers go bad. Shocking. A worn out trope, but kind of a fun spin on it because it’s basically a high school drama meet’s sci-fi thing which is kind of funny. Anyway, the musical. The music was written by Joe Iconis and I love all of the songs. “More than Survive” is a really catchy eight minute piece, with dialogue and fun, upbeat, techno sounding instrumental portions. “The Squip Song” is just all around funny; the story is a once loser, turned cool kid, is trying to convince a current loser to buy a squip, which will make him cool. The song is very much not cool, it’s just a kid screaming about ridiculous technology, which is amazing. “Two Player Game” is an adorable song about the main character and his best friend, both losers, who are sticking it through high school together and it’s all good because “IT’S A TWO PLAYER GAAAAAMMMMEEE!” Then my favorite song, “Micheal in the Bathroom.” This song, man. It’s so pretty, and it’s really sweet in a sad way. It’s the main character’s best friend, singing about how he lost his best friend to the technology that’s trying to make him cool. I just kind of love the actor, George Salazar; he’s precious, and has the voice of an angel (if you want to laugh, listen to him sing the song “Calculus,” not from the play but just out there on YouTube). This whole play, in my opinion, is adorable and I really like the music so I highly recommend 10/10.

Dear Evan Hansen:

This is actually a current Broadway Play, and while I again have not seen the actual play, the story sounds interesting and the music is really really good. The play was written by Steven Levenson, and the music composed by Benj Pasek and Justin Paul. It’s essentially a story of suicide, and people dealing with that type of thing. Like I said, I didn’t really watch it, I just thought it sounded cool and read the Wikipedia article about it. So, I don’t know what to say without actually spoiling the story other than that. But the music in this play. It’s all beautiful man. I really, sincerely suggest listening to the songs. “Sincerely Me” is funny, light-hearted, and really fun to listen to. The whole song is two boys writing emails, and the stories they make up. Another song, which is actually the song that made me start listening to this play, is “You Will Be Found.” This is a gorgeous piece about not giving up hope in tough times, with a full chorus bit, and it sounds really lovely. However, my favorite song from this play is “Waving Through a Window.” I mostly like this song because the singer, Ben Platt, has a beautiful voice. It’s so full and rich, and really shines in this song. It’s a song about people feeling loneliness, but it’s not overly sad, with a very melodic and light tone to it. If you listen to any of the song’s I’ve mentioned today, listen to “Waving Through a Window.”

Well, I guess that’s it. I had fun rambling about music again. I hope y’all enjoyed my nonsense mutterings as well. Do you have any songs you’d recommend? (Side Note, if any of you guys are into play music as well, I haven’t properly listened to Hamilton, I just heard some song’s in passing, but I did quite enjoy them. Maybe songs you like from that play?) HAVE A GOOD DAY GUYS!

Leave a Reply

