A Wintery Spring Break

Last week was spent juggling midterms, performances, and events, but the entire time my mind was preoccupied with the thought of spring break. Spring Break is a much needed rest in the midst of exams, assignments, and general stress. It’s okay that I’m not going to Mexico, I thought, and it’s no big deal that my hometown friends have their breaks a different week, because if this 60 degree spring weather continues, I’ll still have a full week to appreciate the change of season!

weather 12-19_3new

I woke up Friday morning, ready to head home, and looked out the window only to realize that the first day of Spring Break would not be so springy. Alas, with all the things happening throughout last week, I didn’t even think to check the temperature for this one. Opening up the weather app, I saw day after day of freezing temperatures and snowfall… much more like winter break. Well, there goes my “Spring” Break. No Cancun beach, no reunion with the high school crew, no blossoming spring. So what else is there to do…?

With winter storm Stella on its way, I’m guessing I’ll be stuck inside for a day or two, with nowhere to go anyways. But this is a perfect chance to relive my childhood snow day… but for an entire week! Of course, I don’t have to wait in anticipation for the call announcing no school, but that means I can plan out these days ahead of time.

My favorite type of storm, by far, is a snow storm. It doesn’t matter how much or how hard it snows, it is always quite serene. As snow doesn’t make any sound when it hits the ground, the amazing thing about snow storms is that they are silent. And so, I love bundling up and taking a walk outside at night during snow fall. No one else is outside, since it is dark, so it is quiet, and everything is illuminated, including the sky, because of the white snow. As school is always non-stop bustling outside , I never get the chance to experience this there — but my quiet suburbs and forest behind my house are prime locations.

When the sun comes up, after shoveling the driveway, there are a plethora of fun snow activities! Throwing a snowballs for my dog to “catch” or at my brothers, falling backwards into the powder and making snow angels, finding a small hill to sled down. My brothers and I used to fill bowls with snow and drizzle maple syrup on it, essentially making a snow cone. In Quebec, they pour a line of syrup on the snow and roll it up on a popsicle stick to make toffee! Then head inside for a hot cup of hot cocoa or tea to warm up.

If the temperature stays very cold, and the snow becomes icy, it becomes a great consistency to build an igloo! I kid you not, igloos can easily be built with any sort of rectangular container as a brick mold. If you are not able to close off the top, at least you will have built yourself a fort, perfect for an intense snowball fight. Let’s not forget that if a snow ball gets too big, simply continue to roll it and make a snow person!

This may not be the Spring Break you’ve been hoping for and expecting, but it can still definitely be fun. Time to get in touch with your inner child!

 

 

Leave a Reply

