How to Fix Your Sleep Schedule When You Make Terrible Decisions

Listen, I love sleep more than most things in this world and I’m not ashamed to admit that. And ever since coming to college, I feel like all of us have acquired a deeper appreciation for sleep.

First of all, being asleep means that you’re not awake. Which means you don’t have to deal with things like classes or homework or actual work. Second of all, sleep is a socially acceptable reason to lie in bed and do nothing, which is honestly what I want to do all the time except that I have things like classes and work that need my attention. Third of all, sleeping is just amazing. I know it, you know it, we all know it. I really don’t need words to explain something everyone already knows.

So yeah, I love sleeping. But I also love, apparently, making poor choices regarding my health and sleeping habits.

I won’t tell you guys what time I went to sleep every night during winter break because I want you to still respect me in some capacity, but just to give you a general idea of how bad of a decision maker I am, let’s just say that the answer rhymes with shmive o’clock in the shmorning.

I feel like I shouldn’t have to say this, but I’ll say it anway – coming back to Rutgers was…difficult. And exhausting. I’m pretty much tired all the time and I hate coffee (I know, I know, unpopular opinion) so I don’t even have caffeine to help me.

So obviously, as I am wont to do when I am confronted with something that a normal human adult would probably able to fix, I turned to Google for guidance (I can’t ask my mom, she thinks I go to bed at 9 PM every night).  

So gather around children, I’m sure I’m not the only one who messed up their sleep schedule this break, and here are some tips to get your life back together (according to Google):

  • The first article I clicked on was from WebMD, which seemed more legitimate than WikiHow. The first item on the list was to  avoid blue light which means that turn off and look away from anything with a screen, so I was already sceptical of my ability to follow this list and then I read item two, which was “Skip Naps,” at which point I x-ed out of WebMD, never to return.

  • The second article from Her Campus had the more reasonable goal of only taking 20-30 minutes naps (which is also backed up by another WebMD article, in case you didn’t trust Her Campus for some reason. Alright, okay, so I did return.)
  • And all of the articles I read had this point in common: STICK TO A ROUTINE. Meaning go to sleep at the same time every night and wake up at the same time every morning. Don’t fall into the trap of staying up later on the nights before days where you don’t have to be anywhere until 5. Because I have fallen into that trap. Multiple times. I’m pretty sure it shaved off maybe five years of my lifespan.
  • And of course, there’s the obvious avoid caffeine, try to stick to regular hours, and exercise.

So welcome back to Rutgers after a tragically short break. We’ll get through this somehow.  

Leave a Reply

