This Wasn’t Supposed to Be About the Election, But…

I didn’t want to write about the election, because I feel that most have already dissected it enough. But I’m going to do it anyway.

The media’s had their frenzy, and so has everyone else. There’s really only so much that can be said. However, it’s come down to this: everyone knew that everyone had different opinions, but now, having to face those opinions without a way to hide from them, has really taken its toll. That toll is the realization that everyone’s own moralities–what’s right and what’s wrong–lie on different parts of the spectrum.

So, if you feel as if your country has failed you (and for many who did vote for Trump, it didn’t), what are you to do?

I went through the standard five stages of grief, (which really isn’t supposed to be understood the way it is and applied in order), and yeah, I’ve hit acceptance. He is our president, but that doesn’t mean we have to like it. Respect should only be given if it is deserved, and after a campaign of racism and misogyny, I’m not entirely sure he deserves respect. That doesn’t mean I’m asking for a riot; I’m asking for peaceful protests. I’m not asking he be impeached, but I’m asking he educate himself about the mix of immigrants that constitute this country.

His failure to truly understand the plight of minorities is significant. It’s a sign that minorities–and white allies–haven’t been loud enough about their struggles. We’ve had the #BlackLivesMatter movement and police brutality has been publicized. Good. We need more revolution, we need more. This country was built on revolution.

We needed to fail, I think, because failure is what pushes us into action. It’s horrifying to see it this way, from a marginalized perspective. But failure is one of the few things that can propel us to rethink, regroup, and re-strategize. It fosters creativity and revolution.

I was having a conversation with someone the other day, and I found myself asking this: “Isn’t revolution supposed to uncomfortable?”

And I realized something that had never really occurred to me: yes. Yes, it is! It 100% is!

We rally for change, but we forget how uncomfortable it is to change, how uncomfortable it must be for those who are older, who have lived life for so long a certain way. I’m not trying to defend anyone here; I’m trying to urge everyone to understand.

You have to understand to change things. And you have to learn. And you have to be open to learning.

Presidency for Trump is going to be a long learning process. President Obama has already said he’s going to stay longer than usual to teach President-elect Trump how to run the country and effectively maneuver through all that this position of power grants him.

I don’t know if he’ll change, but I know that everyone has the capacity for change. I’m not asking that we give him a chance. I’m asking that now, when racism, misogyny, and white supremacy is at its peak, we rally back louder and stronger. We build bridges, and we make others understand, peacefully. We use this opportunity to weaken the us vs. them divide, and move toward a national “us,” a U.S. After, all what is the U.S. if not us?

Leave a Reply

