Prepping for Halloween

Halloween is one of my favorite times of the year. But I’ve honestly never really known why. It could be the free candy; I feel that’s the response most people would have as to why they enjoy the holiday. Or it could be Mischief Night, which I actually have never partaken in and if destruction of people’s property is the point of the night, then I don’t think I ever will celebrate it. (Mischief Night, by the way, is only a tristate area thing. The rest of the country has almost no idea what it is).

I think, for me, it’s the spirit of it all. It’s something to look forward to, especially for someone who doesn’t celebrate Christmas (but still gives out presents because of how widespread the holiday is in the United States). Halloween is all-inclusive. I guess that’s what I really love about it.

I even got my roommates involved in decorating our door! Here’s a picture:

IMG_7140.JPG

And the creativity of costumes. I love that too.

As a senior in college, I am obviously not able to go door to door to get free candy anymore, but I can still have fun, adult-style. Safely, of course. As a senior in college, I also wanted to do something special for this Halloween. In the past, I haven’t really tried to dress up. I wore black and called it day, for the most part, from my freshman through junior year. But this year, I actually wanted to create my costume, akin to the way many parents sewed together costumes for their children.

I wanted to be Harley Quinn, but then I realized that every girl was going to be Harley. I opted to be the Winter Soldier instead. At least I’ll be warm during Halloween.

Most of the materials were pretty easy to obtain. I already had black pants and boots. I bought a $6 long-sleeve black shirt from the kids section and a $20 vest from Target. I ordered an official and legitimate tactical belt holster and some straps to attach to my vest from Amazon.

But what remained was the arm. Here’s the original Winter Soldier:

d10e278d-9d12-43e4-b58e-eafec4098913

How in the world was I going to make the arm? I could have taken the easy way out with aluminum foil but… that’s not fun. Nor was I going to learn something new.

So I found this tutorial and decided to give it a try.

The tutorial said it would be cheap, easy, and fast, but… it’s been three days and I know I’m going to be working on this arm until next weekend.

Here are some of the pictures of my progress:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I knew nothing about plaster (except faint facts remembered from elementary school). Those cracks weren’t supposed to be that bad. I should have layered rather than slathered on a thick layer of plaster and glue. Oh well. That’s how we learn.

I’ll update you all on how the rest of it goes next time around when I finish!

Leave a Reply

