If you would just register to vote that would be swell

If you know me in real life, then we’ve probably already had the following conversation:

You: Hey, Noreen, how’ve you be-

Me: Have you registered to vote?

You: No, not yet. I’ll probably get around to it late-

Me: Register to vote.

You: …

Me: *slowly rising in volume, pitch, and intensity* Do it now.  Do it. Do it right now. The deadline is October 18th! What’ve you been doing with your life!? What county are you from? You can find the form you need to register to vote on this site, but also if you want to apply to mail-in your vote that’s a separate form that you can find here and these are the deadlines…

You: Noreen, I think that maybe you need to Calm Down. Also I don’t know how you bolded spoken word, but I am very concerned right now.

Me: *not calm at all* What’re you talking about!? I’m totally fine! Why does everyone keep telling me to calm down you know you people could have the chance to weigh in on this issue if you’d just REGISTER TO VOTE AND DO YOUR CIVIC DUTY YOU-!

You: …

Me: Okay, yeah, I see your point…I’m sorry for yelling.

You: It’s okay. We can work through this together.

Anyway, if you’re still friends with me it’s probably because you were already registered to vote and didn’t have to witness my transformation into a raving democracy lunatic.

MERICA

Now, you’ve all probably heard the “this is your chance to make your voice heard in the government and create history so you better participate in the political process blah blah” speech so many times in the past year and a half that you’ve started to train yourself to ignore it, much like how you’ve trained yourself to ignore that annoying upstairs neighbor who doesn’t understand that sound can travel through solid objects.

Well, get ready, because you’re about to hear it again.

And by “it” I mean the whole “political process” speech, not your annoying neighbor. I wouldn’t subject you to that again.

I’ll admit that I’m getting a little sick of political talk. For the past year and a half it seems the media has been saying nothing but, “Hillary’s got emails and she’s also got cancer and Trump wants to build a wall and punch Ted Cruz in the FACE!!!!1!” I’m not trying to convince you to vote for a specific candidate so I won’t be spending too much time on that.  

I don’t care if you’re #WithHer or want to #MakeAmericaGreatAgain. Well, that’s a lie. I care a lot and you should to. This post isn’t really about what hashtag you’re using, it’s about making sure that you take a moment and remember that this election is taking place outside of social media and you need to GO OUT and ACTUALLY VOTE IN THE ELECTION.

Now I think we can all say that this election year has been…well, to put it nicely it’s been pretty ludicrous. To put it more plainly:

Tweet:I'm starting to think that this is the last season of America and the writers are just going nuts

But one positive thing that came out of this mess is the fact that millennials have gotten really passionate about politics, and now that we’re a pretty sizable percentage of America’s eligible voters, we all really have a chance to enact change that will create a United States that we want to see.

I know a single vote doesn’t seem like it would carry that much power, especially with whatever the heck the Electoral College is, but this isn’t really about an individual vote either. It’s about a group of people coming together and making whatever choice they think is right.

So I don’t want anyone to just sit in bed on November 4th and think, “Eh, my vote doesn’t really matter in the grand scheme of things and it’s not like (other candidate) will actually win anyways. Look at how much support (preferred candidate) has in the polls! I think I’ll just go back to sleep and ignore literally all of my responsibilities. That’s a good idea.”

And god forbid, I don’t want anyone to actually FORGET to register, because that’s just foolish behavior.

So here are links to where you can find the voter registration form for New Jersey (THE DEADLINE IS OCTOBER 18) and the application for a mail-in ballot for New Jersey (THE DEADLINE IS ONE WEEK BEFORE THE ELECTION) and here’s how to immigrate to Canada just in case things don’t go your way in November.

Please, just go out and vote in November. We can actually make history here, but not without you.

 

Leave a Reply

