Summer Adventure Series: Coding

As I said many times so far, summer is an amazing time to try new things. Abiding by this adage, I decided to dip my feet into an area that I previously had actually disliked: computer science. Ever since I was in elementary school, I just thought what software engineers do was downright boring. You sit in front of a screen for hours, straining your eyes, and typing away till the sun sets. I used to think, “Why would anyone find enjoyment or wish to do this dull job?” This was, of course, before I tried it myself.

I searched on Google things to do over summer, and repeatedly on top-activities-to-do over-summer lists, learning to code was there. I told myself, “Oh, what the fiddlesticks, let me give it a shot.”

I had no intention of continuing to do it over the whole summer because I had a presumption that I would find it boring. I went on codecademy.com, and started my first lesson on how to make my own webpage. Let me just tell you: as someone who thoroughly disliked computers, I found coding quite exhilarating. It is riveting to see a hieroglyphic language transform into words, pictures, and endless creations. To think that creators of well-known webpages like Facebook and Pinterest used this very code to craft their websites from scratch is incredible.

For those of you who are curious to know what coding is all about, I highly suggest visiting  codecademy.com because the lessons are interactive with instant feedback, projects, and quizzes. Within the first lesson, I guarantee you that you will be well off on your path to becoming a potential web creator!

Here is a little bit about what I have learned and you will too in the first few lessons. Just as we humans speak languages, the computer too has its own languages. Firstly, there is HTML, which is Hyper Text Markup Language. You can say that this is usually used for laying the framework for the webpage. For example, it is used to write the actual text, add images, heading, title, lists, etc… If you want to style these HTML elements you could easily do so using another language called CSS, or Cascading Style Sheet. This is like your artist’s palette; you use multitudinous style properties to customize your text, images, titles etc… Some examples of the various style properties include “font-color,” font-family,” and “text-alignment.” CSS is also very helpful in formatting your HTML elements. To add animation, we would use Java and a collection of pre-written Javascript called jQuery to liven up your HTML elements by adding animations such as fade in and out, toggling menu boards, color changes at the click of a button, and much more! The possibilities of enhancing your web designer skills are endless. Not only do you learn to make your own webpage, but also you get the chance to share this creation with the world.

Currently, I am working on a webpage that gives you a list of the most majestic and marvelous libraries of the world. If you have any suggestions on what I should add or how I should design the site, feel free to comment below!

To get started on coding right now, login to codecademy, and to practice the lessons you learn, download Notepad ++ and start your own code for a webpage! Have fun!

 

 

Leave a Reply

