Snow Won’t Keep Us Inside!

This past weekend, we experienced an actual blizzard. I say this because our snowstorms have been quite lackluster for the past few years. For some, this is a great joy to hear; for others (like me, who enjoy playing in the snow), this was disappointing to hear. I remember getting more than one foot of snow in the winters of my childhood; I remember making snowmen, sledding, and coming inside exhausted and spent, warming my feet in some fuzzy socks, mug of hot chocolate in my hands.

And these past couple years, I wondered, “Why don’t we get that much snow anymore?”

That could be answered in a lot of different ways, but besides conjecture, one thing is true and clear: Earth’s climate is getting warmer.  Scientific consensus is that it’s mostly our fault, that it’s because of the greenhouse gases our machines emit. It’s really not difficult to believe this when there are so many machines that we use around us that contribute to the amount of greenhouse gases in the air. But wait. So what does that mean for snow? My thoughts are that if we don’t do something more to halt or slow the Earth’s increasing climate, then we might not have snow anymore at all. Of course, losing snow is the least of our problems with an increasing climate. But it’s just another thing to add to the list of things we might lose.

With this in mind, and a desire to create new memories (and relive some of my childhood ones), I spent this weekend outside with some friends, specifically Sunday, because getting caught outside in the middle of the snowstorm wasn’t really my idea of fun.

Although I didn’t make a snowman, I did sled around places on Busch campus. The air was cold and crisp, but it wasn’t freezing; the weather was perfect for sledding. One of the steep hills on campus is the hill across from the Campus Center. We didn’t sled there, because the street was across from us, and landing there could have been catastrophic. But angled correctly, and toward the other side, and it might have worked. Another was the sidewalk near Serin and SERC, but there were trees and the sidewalk had mostly been cleared. That doesn’t mean we didn’t try sledding down that hill. We strolled the campus, looking for places to sled, or sometimes just sat around:

IMG_5992

I’m glad I wore two pairs of pants, but I was still soaked after sitting on that mountain of snow.

And we had some fun with some snowball fights, because the snow actually stuck together well enough to form a snowball. And in the process of running around campus, running away from snowballs, we saw a bunch of snowmen:

IMG_5997.jpg

This one was in the courtyard by Crosby Suites.

IMG_6016.jpg

This one was in front of BEST Hall.

And some snowmen had been knocked down, which was depressing. Coming upon those felt like someone was snuffing out a piece of life, or brightness. And the snowmen, although nice to see, were nowhere near the calibre of last year’s snowmen, when people had created snow statues of The Thinker and Pietà. So this is a challenge to all of you out there: do you think you can build a better snowman next time we have a snowstorm?

And reliving my childhood wasn’t complete yet! I had one more thing left to do:

IMG_6006.jpg

Make a snow angel!

I’m surprised, as I was making the snow angel, that I didn’t get more soaked. That might have been because I was already pretty drenched.

And to bring this childish experience back into the future, I took an aesthetic picture. For memory purposes, of course:

IMG_6011.jpg

 

 

Leave a Reply

