Adventure Awaits

It has been eleven days since the much anticipated countdown to the New Year and I still haven’t thought of a New Year’s resolution to attempt. Once the ball drops, “new year, new me” sentiments flood social media. While the thought of a new and improved self sounds very appealing, what exactly does that mean? How do I want to improve and better myself, my well-being? I want a simple and effective goal with a plan that I know I’ll stick to. As much as I want to go to the gym five days a week, I know that it’s not realistic because to be honest, I am really a little lazy. On that note, what I do know is that I need a new show to binge-watch. I’ve just finished Downton Abbey (which was an incredible and emotional experience) and I’m yearning for a new series to squeeze in before school starts, so if you have any suggestions I would love to hear them.

With the new year comes new opportunities for change and personal growth, and along with keeping an eye open for new Netflix suggestions, I am searching for new adventures. I think I may have figured out what I want my New Year’s resolution to be. I want to take advantage of as many opportunities and adventures as I can. I don’t want to be held back by fear or uncertainty, and I need to let go of the baggage from 2015 that will hold me back. There is no better place than Australia to put into action my plan to take advantage of all the new year has to offer. I am so eager to study abroad in Brisbane at the University of Queensland this semester.

Ever since I was little and learned about kangaroos, koalas, and the Great Barrier Reef, I have been fascinated with Australia and wanted to go. I had to adjust some plans prior to applying to study abroad but I know it will all be worth it in the end. The anticipation surrounding this adventure has fueled my desire to see more of the world with friends. I even want to challenge myself by travelling a bit on my own. During a conversation with my dad in a Home Depot parking lot, I described my dreams to him and exclaimed, “The world is my oyster!”

This cliche phrase has never seemed so appropriate. Each new year brings me closer to new adventures and I am extremely excited for what’s to come. 2015 had its ups and downs, but now it’s 2016’s turn to prove itself memorable. I’m optimistic that this year will be rewarding and filled with unforgettable moments.

This year, you won’t find me in the gym. I resolve to spend less time indoors and more time walking in the wind–exploring, growing, and learning. The world is my oyster and I am its pearl, polished by the new year. Let the waves of opportunity carry me through a thrilling and successful year. Adventure awaits.

Leave a Reply

