The End of Undergrad (Class of 2015)

Hello, readers! Today I write to you on this blog as a Rutgers ALUMNA. It’s so weird that I have to refer to myself as that from now on, almost as weird as having to consider myself as an “adult.” (I wish I could sugarcoat this for you but as a 22-year old, I’m still waiting for the adulthood vibes to come on, and I’m not sure when they are supposed to.)

As some of you may know, Rutgers commencement was just about a week ago. Since the university is comprised of several schools, each one has its own event in addition to the university-wide celebration that everyone is welcome to attend. The latter one is the event with the keynote speaker, etc. This year was pretty neat since our speaker was none other than Bill Nye! In addition to his climate advocacy work today, he’s also such an icon from our generation’s childhood, so I thought that was a nice way for things to come full-circle. I personally enjoyed his message, but you can still watch the speech for yourself if you weren’t present last Sunday. (FYI the embedded video is not mine.)

Last Sunday was special for another reason – it was the first time the School of Arts and Sciences held its own convocation event, rather than having individual departments host their own at different locations. Since I was graduating from SAS, you could say that Sunday’s itinerary was pretty long for me, mostly consisting of sitting and waiting around in the stadium, but now that it’s passed it really felt like no time at all. That’s the thing about college – you work really hard up until the very end of the semester, and then there’s not much time for it to sink in before you’re home for the summer.

But before I talk too much, here’s some proof that I was actually there:

Walking out from under the stadium!

Walking out from under the stadium!

Every school gets a fun prop to wave around; SAS students had their own small flags.

Every school gets a fun prop to wave around; SAS students had their own small flags.

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

IMG_8027

Friends! (Photo credit to my dad for the first one.)

Friends! (Photo credit to my dad for the first one.)

IMG_8016

One of the best parts was sitting behind these guys. I can't believe they made the commitment to carry those under their gowns.

One of the best parts was sitting behind these guys. I can’t believe they made the commitment to carry those under their gowns.

And so marked the end of my Rutgers journey. I’m not really one to say cheesy/sentimental messages when it comes to endings like this, but (if you haven’t already graduated), as a senior you’ll definitely hear them enough.

Ice cream cake. Yes, it had the cookie crumbs in the middle.

Ice cream cake. Yes, it had the cookie crumbs in the middle.

Lastly, I suppose I should at least share what I’ll be up to post-undergrad: I have a full-time job! At a software company in the Midwest. I won’t go into the details here, but if you’re a Rutgers student who’d like to know more OR has something you’d like to share with me about Madison, Wisconsin, feel free to contact me. (Email in the bios section.)

Madison, WI isn't ready for me

Madison, WI isn’t ready for me.

To my graduating seniors: We did it!

To other undergrads out there: You can make it! But treasure your time, it really does fly by. The undergrad years are such a unique period in life, and that’s something I didn’t fully understand until I realized they were over.

And to my readers: Thanks for following along, though I’ve only had a little to share so far. Hopefully I’ll be back here some time to talk a bit about the “real world” with you all. Ha.

Happy Summer! Stay tuned for the rest of our awesome new bloggers!

Leave a Reply

